X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• finishing

After reading everything I can on wood finishing I'm still unclear on what types of varnish I can put paste wax on to get that really deep shine. Any advice would be great.
    Thanks in advance
    Tim

I'm surprised you've found anyone who recommends putting any king of paste wax on varnished surfaces.

Comment

Well to be honest no one has but I still am wondering how you get that really deep shine on wood. As you can tell I'm really new at this woodworking stuff.
      Thanks tim

Comment

I don't claim to be an expert, but I'd guess you either go with a good urethane with several coats, with light sanding (220 grit paper) in between, or something like tung oil, well buffed and several coats, or real varnish. The last takes a good touch to get a good finish. In none of these cases is a subsequent coat of paste wax recommended.

Comment

RGad, I don't know why you're surprised.

Waxing furniture is older than the hills, as is varnish. But, it won't particularly make it shinier. It makes it feel a little nicer, and dust cloths slide better, which hopefully will keep folks from using evil "stuff" like Pledge. If you want to wax, give the varnish (any kind available on Earth, by the way) a couple or more weeks to cure.

For that deep shine, you need to "finish the finish", a process of sanding and polishing the finish. Long descriptions required, check out any reputable finishing book from the library. "Reputable", in this context, can be taken to mean authored by Jewitt, Dredsner, Flexner, Charron. Possibly others I cannot vouch for.

Dave

Comment