Beveling a 1x2

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beveling a 1x2

I am a total newbie to woodworking and just picked up the TS2400 Rigid. I am trying to do a 45 degree bevel on one corner of a 1x2 piece of cherry.

All my test pieces have not turned out well. They either have burn marks, saw blade marks or both. Do I need to change the blade to a better one, or just keep practicing my feeding technique? Any advice on this would be much appreciated.

Stevem,
    Welcome to the Forum and to the wonderful world of woodworking.
    I assume you have your blade tipped to 45 degrees, your miter gage set to 90 degrees and are cutting the bevel by holding the stock against the miter gage and pushing it through the blade. I know that's a lot to assume, but we've gotta start somewhere. I sure hope you're using your blade guard.
    A better quality blade will reduce or eliminate saw marks depending on how much you want to spend. Sandpaper will work for now.
    The burn marks worry me. I hope you don't have the end of the board butted up against the fence. That will cause burn marks and a little thing we call "kickback". Actually it's a very big thing. Kickback occurs when a piece of wood gets trapped between the blade and fence and gets thrown back at the operator at high speed and it can happen with really big pieces of wood, not just little ones. It can cause very serious injury. Don't let cutoffs get trapped, don't stand in line with the blade, and wear safety glasses. Use push sticks, push blocks, blade guard, splitter and anti-kickback pawls whenever possible. BE SAFE!!