X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• purchasing woodworking equipment

I am new to woodworking.I would like to purchase basic equipment to get started,for example a planer, jointer, sander, table saw, etc. I would like to know how much wood I can expect to plane and joint before wear and tear takes its toll on the equipment.

Emmitt---welcome to the forum and apparently, welcome to woodworking.

One thing, first off, I'd like to say. You can start off with a minimal amount of tools and still produce useful pieces----you simply start off with simpiler projects. It's all too easy to overlook actual woodworking and to become a tool collector (which has it's fun points as well). What I'm trying to say, is that with some hand tools and hand power tools, you can still build some nice things----then as your budget and available space is available, you can start adding to your tools. But, you're much better off buying some quality beginners' tools than thinking you need a full shop full of cheap tools to stay within your budget.

Not that I'm the perfect example, but it's taken years for me to acquire what is now a pretty decent complement of tools.

As to large power tools, IMO, the first two on your list should be a table saw and jointer----again, get the best you can aford, but focus on just these two at first---there are fine substitutes for stationary tools like drill presses and band saws, etc., in a good collection of hand power tools.