X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brad or Finish nailer

Hello, I am still very new to the wood working so I have a few questions. I am going to be enclosing our porch and making it into a four season room. I will be putting in car siding for the walls and the questions I have is I only own a brad nailer and was wondering if this would be good enough. I really don't want to purchase a finishing nailer for this one project. Does anyone know if there will be problems with using a brad nailer (18 ga) and not a finishing nailer (16 ga) ? Also how far off the floor should I have the first board (not sure what type of flooring we will be installing yet - hardwood/carpet) and do I put the grove or tongue side up ? thanks.

Really never hear of car siding. If it is tongue and groove pine run horizontal then here are my thoughts..
    The distance from the floor (anywhere around 1/2") is not as important as having the first row level unless you are running right up tight to the ceiling. If that is the case you may want to consider the ceiling height and the width of the boards so you don't end up needing a 1/2 wide piece to finish the gap at the top, it would be better to rip a bottom piece that will be hidden by baseboard as a starter strip. You may also want to make the starter strip level with the roof instead of the floor, depends on the difference between floor, ceiling and real level, it is a balancing act to end up with a finished room that looks right. The boards are installed tongue up and you nail through the tongues to hide the nails. The 18 gauge is not enough to hold the wall up on its own but if you use and adhesive (PL premium or even wood glue) it will be more than enough.

Comment

Thanks WBrooks, excellent tips on the starter row. I wouldn't of thought about the row that hits the ceiling until it was to late.