X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2424-1 vs. 3650

I have a chance to pick up a 2424-1 for about $350.00. Would this be worth it versus the $600.00 I'll spend at Home Depot for the 3650? What are the major differences between the two. One of my concerns is the amount of table space in front of the blade so I can use panel cutting jigs, etc. I didn't think about this when I bought my little craftsman, and I already regret buying it. I'm not a pro, but I have quite a bit of free time, and a lot of furniture my wife wants built. I went cheap with my Crafstman, and it was a waste of money.

Thanks for the help,

Tom

I have never used the 2424, I do own the 3650. I love it. I have made a large sled to handle cross cuting. There is plenty of room on the front of the table, this was not the case with my older saw. I think it works better and is much safer.
    SCWood

Comment

Tom----Believe you'll find the 2424-1 doesn't have the micro-adjust rear trunion---but could be wrong. The 2424 fence was not the best (according to several mag' reviews) but some people report good luck with it. But, for $350---you could add an after-market fence and be at the same price as the 3650, with a fantastic fence. I have an older Craftsman version and it's still going strong---good Emerson motor as well.

As to the 3650, there's a lot of praise here, but there are also a number of problems reported----try a search for details on flexing and motor problems (motor no longer made by Emerson).

Frankly, the 3650 is a totally new saw, with issues---the 2424 design has been used by Emerson for years---they just kept improving it.
      Dave

Comment

I have the 2424, would not trade it for a 3650. $350 is a nice price if it isn't badly abused, or left to rust.

My trunion has micro adjust features using an allen wrench. Not the easiest of tasks, but seldom needs adjusting.