Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just picked up my TS3650 - what do I need to get

Hi all,

I've been lurking for a long time and due to excellent reviews and opinions voiced on this forum and the magazine reviews I decided to get the Ridgid TS3650. I read everything I could for at least a month and it came down to either the 3650 or the Craftsman 22124. I figured with the 3650 I would save enough to get a planer (which I did, picked up the Ridgid planer at the same time). Plus the fact that I am just a weekend woodworker I don't need a Biesemeyer fence and all. Well for now that is. [img]smile.gif[/img]

Well to me question. Now that I have the table saw what else do I need to get or do to it? I saw the awesome posts on the Promax router wing and the leg braces. Both are on my todo list. But what else should I get now or at least put on my list? What blades do you all suggest? I will mostly use the saw for furniture building and general cutting duties. What about the belt? Should I replace it with a link belt?

Well, thanks for the insights and opinions. I'll keep you all posted on how it goes. I'm putting it together tonight!

Cheers,
    Stefan

[ 11-30-2005, 04:06 PM: Message edited by: sbolka ]

First of all, a link belt will not work on the 3650. The 3650's pulleys are grooved and require a serpentine belt. Even if you went to the expense of changing out the pulleys and adding a link belt, I doubt if it would make a difference. The 3650 easily will pass the infamous nickel test.

As for the saw blade, there are many ways you can go here. For sure replace the OEM blade. It's alright for carpentry work but not very good for wood working.