R4512 tolerance and accuracy?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• R4512 tolerance and accuracy?

I just purchased a R4512 a month ago, I have a master plate and a analog dial indicator I used to align my saw blade to the Miter slot, and the to the fence. I am having trouble getting the arbor parallel with the miter slot I have used bar clamps to move the arbor however the arbor flexes, all four bolts are lose. My question is what kind of tolerance should I expect with arbor to miter slot in thousandants of and inch? So far I am only able to get it to 2 thou from the leading edge of the plate to the trailing edge I think I should be able to get a zero difference. The fence is a another problem the aluminum extrusion has 40 thou difference from the front to the back. This makes it impossible to make a straight cut. I have ordered a replacement fence it was damaged when it Arrived a new one is on the way? I have also noticed when I clamp the fence down the base of the fence will flex I have loosened the clamp pressure bolt at the end Of the fence however when it is lose enough to keep the base from flexing the fence will slide. Oh and I do have the problem of the arbor changing angle as I raise the blade :-( I can see no fix for this. Any suggestions? How tight of tolerances should I expect? What are yours? Blade/arbor to miter slot and fence to slot or blade? Thanks A former CNC installer this maybe why I expect such close tollorances

Yea, you expect too much. Especially from a saw in that price range.
    sigpic

Comment

it's a known problem for this saw. everyone has it. the saw is hobby-builder grade, not professional grade.
      ~~

... it was plumbed by Ray Charles and his helper Stevie Wonder

Comment