Sharpening wood chisels

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sharpening wood chisels

I got a set of economy class wood chisels that I use for rough framing and when they get dull I "sharpen" them with 220 then 400 grit sandpaper. These chisels are over 30 years old and over time they are no longer are flat so I need to bring them back on track. I use these chisel for cleaning up mortiseses, trimming pegs, cleaning up notches.

Everytime I go to find a chisel sharpening kit I end up getting lost with all the different products and systems available. I'm looking for a trade proven system and I'm wondering what you guys recomend.
    Last edited by Mightyservant; 05-14-2018, 01:10 PM.

I use the Robert Larson 800-1800 Honing Guide, https://www.amazon.com/Robert-Larson...l+honing+guide . Chisels are not an everyday tool for me when a project comes up where I need to use one I've found that this guide works well for me. Pretty sure that I've been using it for 7 or 8 years.
    I decided to change calling the bathroom the "John" and renamed it the "Jim". I feel so much better saying I went to the Jim this morning.

Comment

• Mightyservant
      Mightyservant commented
      Editing a comment
      Thanks BadgerDave, I've got it in my basket. For that price I'll give it a shot !

I thought you fitters use screwdrivers as chisels. In fact DeWalt makes a screwdriver designed for hammering.

My wood chisels stay out of the truck and at the shop along with my wood turning chisels. My truck chisels are typically cold chisels. That I hand grind.

When the electricians are not looking, they have good screwdrivers.

Rick.
    phoebe it is

Comment

• Mightyservant
      Mightyservant commented
      Editing a comment
      Believe or not I don't, most of us in the shop have several cold chisels small and large that we can sharpen up with the cordless grinder. Same with digging bars.