Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• what do/don't you use in your cordless combo kit

Background:
    I do drywall, framing, decks, sheds. Occasianal chair/table, etc. I am a programmer by day, and offer amatuer carpentry services by weekend, as a way to burn off steam, and make a tiny bit or $$$. As a kid I did more 'woodworking', but that was because the neighbour let me use his lathe/router/biscuit-joiner/planer/scroll-saw/etc.

My 14.4 Mastercraft (A canadian generic brand) died finally. Trying to decide if I should by, a combo kit or not... hell, I am not even firm on brand or voltage yet.

Besides the drill, the only tool I think would be handy would be the sawzall. I would not use the sawzall a lot, but times when I would use it, not having to use a cord would be great. For summer jobs, I worked for a contractor, we used the sawzall al the time for knocking walls out, cutting holes, etc. We plan on renovating our house this month, so I would atleast get a month out of it :-).

I have read about people who end up using the impact tool for most of the stuff they used to use the drill for. (Wood a impact tool work for driving driving screws into wood, or is there enough control there?)

The circular saw, I don't care, I'll use a cord, when I need to cut something.

Flash light? Er... camping trips?

It seems that only dewalt offers a drill sawzall combo.

Seems I can pickup a drill/circ./recip/flash set of bosch/milwaukee/ridgid for about $375 USD, shipped, on eBay. The ridgid combos for this price come with an impact gun. I can get just the drill for about $225 shipped. Then I could buy the naked reciprocating saw for about $100 shipped. Hmmm....
    (I have to use eBay, as tools in Canada cost about 25%-40% more than the prices I see advertised in the US. THough I will ahve to pay duty as it crosses border).