X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buying a compressor, need help!

Can anyone help me? Buying a compressor and I am looking at the Ridgid OF45150(compressor alone $398) and the PC CFFC350C (which is the compressor and framing nailer $499) There appears to be 2 different readings on the Ridgid OF45150 twin stack compressor. At Homedepot.ca and on the actual box and machine the ouput reads 4.9 SCFM@90PSI but at the official RIDGID site and on many reviews it reads 6.2 SCFM. Does anyone own this machine? What is the actual output? It is just for home use (ie. some home reno and wheel rotation) Compressor wise will I really notice a difference? Or are things like tank size and the small approx. 1 scfm difference much of an issue for occasional user?

Hi petjat,

Welcome to the forum.

I am not an expert on compressors, but here is what little I know. You need to decide what your basic use for it will be as well as any limitations it may have. For instance, if you do nothing but use it for air nailing, flow is not important. Air nailers use it for the pressure to hammer in the nail. If you use it for painting, another story altogether. Spray guns (paint sprayers) will say what flow at what pressure they recommend.

The SCFM will vary with pressure, generally speaking. The higher the pressure, the more flow.

Tank size also is somewhat dependent on what you do. If you plan on using it for the air nailers, one of these "pancake" compressors offer sufficient volume and because of the smaller tank, more portability. If you plan on spray painting, the bigger tank will be necessary. Obviously, the bigger tank will also affect how often the compressor has to come on and go off so some wear and tear factors come into play there.

Hope this helps.

Jerry
    It is impossible to make anything foolproof because fools are so ingenious.

Comment