X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dado question

I am building a bookshelf as part of my built in entertainment center project. I decided to cut long dado's the length of the bookshelf sides (~80") for an adjustable track for shelves. I did one side with the router and it was quite a bit of effort (lots of clamping, multiple passes, had to be done in 2 sections also due to clamping diffulty) Anyways this was a PIA, so for the 2nd side, I used my 3650 and Freud stacked dado set. I've never used a dado set before, but I followed the instructions and used common sense (or so I thought) and had a few issues.

1. Freud instructions say the outer blades should have the lettering facing out. If you are to do this with both blades then the teeth will be backwards on one of them. I put one face out and one face in.

2. Chippers should be placed 90 degrees. That's fine for the first 2 chippers, but when you add a 3rd (I was doing 5/8" dado) it squeezes in pretty tight to the first.

3. The biggest problem of all, on both cuts near the end of the cut, the ply started to shift uncontollably away from the fence. I need to stop the saw and re-saw the dado. The result is a nice clean 5/8" dado for 75" and about 1 1" dado for the last 5" - is this because the stock was too long? Was I dadoing on the wrong side of the fence? Stock was 18" I had fence set at right 2.5" and I pushed from left of blade against the fence - not too much force.

The piece is usable, and I am considering this a learning expeience. Thanks for helping a newbie.