Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Forrest WWII blade, is it really worth it?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Forrest WWII blade, is it really worth it?

I'm very close to pulling the trigger on a new Forrest WWII TK Blade. I've read all the reviews and so far most everyone swears by this blade. The only thing of course is the cost. I could probably pick up 2 or 3 freud blades for the price. Is the blade really worth it? I'm a weekend woodworker and definitely don't make my living from my projects. Come to think of it my project as of late has been buying tools instead of making stuff out of wood. Anyhow I'd appreciate some feedback from those of who have tried Forrest blades as well as those who have not. Thanks.

Depends

Amazon sells them for $81 but they are temporarily out of stock.

How's that compare to the prices you've seen?
    Lorax
    "Did you put the yellow key in the switch?" TOD 01/09/06

Comment

That's where I saw them. I'm debating if I should pick up a couple of the Freud TK406 blades which are on sale for about $25.00 instead. Have you used either of these blades?

Comment

Never used a Forrest

I prefer a full kerf. This is the one I use. It really does make mirror smooth cuts.

Lorax

Comment

Well it looks like the Freud blades are back to their normal price. I had a couple in my amazon cart and they all went back up in price. I guess I should seriously consider the Forrest Blade instead now.

Comment

I have two WWII blades and can't say enough good things about them. If you can snatch them up for $80+, do it.

Michael

Comment

I'm with Ryan

Being new to this and all, i have the same questions as Ryan.
              Is the carbide THAT much better than other quality blades? What is it that justifies that cost? Will i purchase/have sharpened far fewer times with the WWII than other blades?
              Longevity is the only attribute that i can see that would make me want to give up that much money.