X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• planer tear-out . . .help!

I'm a newbie trying to make a changing table out of soft maple and I'm having some problems with tear out.

I originally bought a Craftsman thickness planer for this project. It worked great for a few boards and then started tearing out something fierce. I called Sears support and (long story short) ended up returning the machine in favor of my new Ridgid TP1300LS, which . . . sadly . . . started tearing out on the first pass (although not quite as bad).

I've got the infeed and outfeed tables waxed and even with the planer table. I never take off more than 1/64th of an inch and I've tried "going with the grain." This helps, except that most of my boards have grain patterns that switch midway through. So the problem persists.

I've heard that some people dampen thier stock with water before putting it through. Is this a good idea? I'm a bit hesitant to put wet wood through my shiny new planer. Seems like it could gum up the blade and maybe increase the risk of rusting.

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

btw, is maple particularly prone to tearout?

Soft maple shouldn't be as bad as hard maple, birdseye maple, lacewood, etc., but they all be prone to some tearout....it shouldn't be major though. You're doing most of the things I'd recommended. Misting the board with water should help. Sharp blades, light passes, well adjusted machine....you're doing it. Depending on how long the boards are, you might try putting them in at an angle too.