X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Book and video review

I saw this come up on another thread, and thought it might be nice to get ideas of what books are useful for the woodworker. As I'm pretty new to all this, my recent purchase was:

"Tage Frid Teaches Woodworking" by Tage Frid. Taunton Press.
    It's a very well-documented work, with tons of different topics from table saw to band saw and all the other tools. Tage writes the manual very well, and with the pictures, it's very easy to follow each process he takes you through. I find this book usually ends up open and on the benchtop by the end of the day.

What books are you all using? Which ones would you recommend? Are there any good videos that show things like dovetail techniques or other topics?
    I put it all back together better than before. There\'s lots of leftover parts.

I'm reading a couple books from the Library, but I couldn't tell you if they're any good. What I mean is that I'm so new that it's still all greek to me. It's interesting as hec, just need time to absorb it and then try to appy what I'm reading. Good topic. I'll have to keep an eye on it. Thanks for starting it.

Comment

I seen a set of four called 2X4 and they have all types of projects. I really liked them.

Comment

I bought the popular mechanics book called "Table saw fundamentals - The Complete Guide" IMHO is an excellent book discussing basic and advanced techniques,jigs and fixtures as well as setup and maintenance aspects
        I am in no way an advanced woodworker YET but would highly recommend this for the straight forward and practical use of the text

It is written by Rick Peters isbn 1-58816-367-9 I purchased it from chapters if that helps

Nelz

Comment

These are a few of the books that I would recommend;

1. The Table Saw Book by Kelly Mehler, ISBN 1-56158-426-6
          2. Table Saw Magic by Jim Tolpin, ISBN 1-55870-512-0