Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Staining Pine

Hi,

After seeing all the projects that were posted recently, I can see the members of this forum are not only fine woodworkers, but can do great finishing as well.

So my question is this: Do you need to prepare pine with a conditioner before staining it? I heard it comes out blochy if not conditioned before hand. I stained some pine doors after using a conditioner fro Minwax, but they came out with a bit of an orange-ish tint that wasn't there when a sample was stained without the prep.

Any suggestions on a prep, or is it even necessary? I thought I saw somewhere that you could use water.

Thanks,
    Frank

I am not an expert but have stained pine using minwax oil stain both ways. The biggest factor in the finish was the prep sanding. I usually overdo it by going to 320 grit before I stain (this means the stain doesn't take as fast and won't be as dark. That said, the biggest difference I saw was on the edge of the stain when it is intially applied. I tried using a brush, rag, and sponge, and I noticed that regardless of the methods, without the sealer, the edge of the stain as I put it on (where the wet stain and the dry wood met) left a darker line that I could not remove, even by immediately applying wet stain over it. It was particularly noticeable if a drop of stain hit the dry wood before it was wetted (left a ring on the edge). I did not have this problem using the presealer, and did not notice the orange-tint that you described but I finish coated with the fast-dry polyurethane, which has a bit of amber hue also. I had the same results using Golden Oak, Natural cherry, Early American and Provincial.
    I did notice that using the presealer affected how dark I could ultimately stain. Anything after two coats of stain was a waste because it did not darken it further. Without the sealer I was able to get a darker hue.