No announcement yet.

TS3650 Rail Adjustment Blues

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TS3650 Rail Adjustment Blues

I'm a total newbie when it comes to table saws and just recently purchased a TS3650. I'm in the process of assembling it, but cannot get the front and back rails set to the right level such that (quoted from the manual) "8 pages of the owner's manual fit in between the table top and rip fence" (I'm guessing that 8 pages of the owner's manual correspond to about 1/64"). Furthermore, ignoring the specified distance, I cannot even get the rails high/low enough to one another such that the distance of the rip fence to the table top remains constant between the front and back of the table.

Is this a problem? Were you able to get it right with yours?

The important point is that the rails are level when mounted. The "8 pages" adjustment is for the fence so that it slides smoothly along the rails and doesn't get hung up on the saws top. The rails don't have to be exactly parallel with each other. They do have some vertical adjustment to them but the important thing is that the fence locks down at both the front and rear rails. If your rails are level and do lock at both the front and rear you should be good to go.
    Last edited by BadgerDave; 05-30-2006, 09:19 AM.
    ================================================== ====
    All of us could take a lesson from the weather. It pays no attention to criticism.

I would add that in addition to vertical adjustment and the importance of both the front and rear locking down on the fence, you will also want to be carefull that the rear rail is set flush with or lower than the table top. If not then anything you run down the T-tracks of the table will catch on the rails and may not allow you to slide all the way through.

EDIT: Thanks to TOD for pointing out my mistake. I did error above and should say that the rails need to be flush or below the mitre slots!