Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bandsaw problems

Hi Guys,

I'm kinda new at this so please excuse my stupidity.

I have a Ridgid 14" bandsaw. I build longrifles and need it to cut out stock profiles in cherry, maple and walnut.

At this time, I am totally scared to begin the process of cutting up a$300 piece of wood, because of the inconsistency of my saw.

Here is my problem.... I have tensioned, adjusted and done everything according to the book on the rollers and blade guides, but I just can't make this thing follow a line. As I push the work into the blade, it gradually pushes off to my right and at an angle so that it's almost impossible to control. I find that I'm eventually pushing the stock into the blade at a 15 to 30deg angle just to get it to follow the line. Also, the bottom of the blade seems to deflect to the left as I proceed and my cuts will no longer be square with the sides of the wood.

I need good square cuts to maintain the squareness of the stock contours.

Any help out there????

In His grip,

Dane

Hello, Dane!

With any bandsaw, you'll find the blade will track off the line if you try to keep it parallel. It's called "blade drift". What most do is to account for that by not sawing right on the line. keep out about 1/8" at least. Then use a template and a trim bit on a router to clean it up. If you notice the blade is warping in the cut, you might want to try a thicker/wider blade. The tradeoff to that is you can't cut deep curves.

Welcome to the forums. I hope you can post some pics of the rifles! I've been considering getting into that myself. I love the look and feel of the old longrifles. They're really works of art.
    I put it all back together better than before. There\'s lots of leftover parts.

Comment

VA,

Right now I'm using a 3/8" blade. There are some definite curves I'm going to have to go to a smaller blade yet to get to.