X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice from a Plane Expert

I need to buy my first plane (woodworking not air)and I am looking for a little advice on what to buy. I need to do some work on most of the doors in out house as well as some cabinets. They were all cut a little to close and thus stick all summer long!

Thanks
    Mark

I'm no plane expert, but can give you my 2 cents worth.
    I use a little Stanley 220 for trimming doors. It's a low angle plane so hitting the end grain of the door rails is a bit easer to do.
    I live in a old house(1911), so I trim a few doors now and then!
    Also make sure the plane is sharp. It will make the job much easer. A new plane out of the box is not very sharp. A little work on the iron will go a long way.
    Rob Johnson
    Orange,CA.

[ 07-07-2003, 10:09 AM: Message edited by: Backyard Woodworker ]
    Just tilt your head a little and it will look straight!

Comment

Mark,

I use the following as listed according to frequency:

Stanley 60 1/2 (this one I use for endgrain but also to soften an edge and other light work), small, feels good in the hand and fits in the apron pocket with no problems.)

Stanley No. 5 (Use for flattening and small edge surfaces)

Stanley No. 7 (Use for edging larger surfaces).

Whatever you decide on, a sharp iron makes all the difference in smooth removal as opposed to hurting yourself. There have been some links around here for the Scary Sharp system, which has given me better results than a 800 and 4000 grit waterstone. Good Luck.
      Patrick<br />patrickssmith@cox.net<br />members.cox.net/patrickssmith

Comment