X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• finishing drywall

I am redoing a room in my house, and i really hate finishing drywall.....yuk..yuk..yuk!!

I used my Ridgid 5" orbital attached to my Ridgid Professional Wet/Dry vac with virtually no dust. You can get adpaters to connect to most shop vacs or use a rubber coupling reducer from the plumbing section of your hardware store.

Comment

I have redone many rooms in my house. I hate drywall, paint, and just about everything associated with renovating an old home. The next house, I will have built and let some one else deal with all of the yucky jobs.

Good luck. Remember, more thin coats means less sanding.
      Character is doing the right thing when no one is looking.

Comment

I have been doing drywall work since 1978 so I have a lot of experience with it. If you have to use a power sander to sand it out. You are leaving too much wet mud on the joint.

Comment

Ditto on the too much mud issue, Reb, but I think that he was addressing the messy dust issue. It perked up my ears when I read about using the vac/ sander combo!
          Later,
          Chiz
          Later,
          Chiz

Comment

I use the wet-sponge technique, along with being very careful to only apply thin coats of mud. Takes longer, but it works fine for me, and I don't to pay any vet bills for my cat who has asthma...(grin)
            Nolo illigitamati carborundum

Comment

I actually don't mind doing drywall. I use thin coats and it usually takes three to four to even out most seams, corners, etc. Biggest challenge is patience. Wet sanding is best and I vac the area before applying the next coat to keep from tracking the dust all over. I hesitate to use a power sander as in many cases this is rather harsh on the tool and will often void the warranty on some.

Having good lighting is a big help on the final coats so you can check for any low spots, dings, etc.

CWS