Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need advice

Hi all,
    I have TS2424 and really love it. It is tuned and square and passes the nickel test.
    I am new to woodworking and have designed and am ready to build a router station. The table top is 36" high and the station's foot print is 26" x 22".
    I am using 3/4" cabinet grade birch plywood for the carcass. I have all my material laid out (rough sizes) and am getting to cut to final sizes.
    I will be using dados for the shelves and mating corners.

My concern is, I have 3 panels that are rather large (2 @ 1'-9 3/4" x 3'-4 7/8" & 1 @ 2'-2" x 3'-4 7/8"), and I am not sure if I am better off using a router to make the dados instead. I have been reviewing sled plans on the internet and have not really seen anything to handle panels these sizes.

My questions are can I attach a fence extension to my Incra V27 (I think the bar may be short), or should I modify sled plans I have seen to accomodate the panels, or should I use my router with a guide?

I do feel that there is to much room for error using the router with guide (having to remove/replace the guide for each piece) instead of doing a production run on the table saw.

Any advice or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.
    Kurt
    (Cool! I still have 10 fingers!)

With only 14" or so from the front of the saw back to the blade, using a miter gauge wouldn't be the best choice for these cuts IMO. I would just use the fence for a guide if I were making those dado cuts with a TS.

As far as using a router to make the cuts, if you have clamps that are long enough, just clamp all three pieces together and cut all three pieces at the same time.
    Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment