Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 110V 220 V step down Q

Hey everybody,
    It's my first time here and the reason for it is I need info - and hard to find info too.
    I am relocating to New Zealand and want to take all my (RIDGID) electrical tools with me. Ridgid don't have 220 V replacement motors (I alreay checked with the online service technicians)
    My question is:
    1) can I use a step down voltage converter/transformer that will step down voltage from 240V to 110 V?
    2) My tools are 110V, 15A, 60Hz. In New Zealand they have 240V 50Hz. What is Hz and how will this effect my tools?
    3) The voltage converters/transformers you get vary in size from 100 Watts to 1500 Watts. I cannot find the wattage of my tools on the spec sheets nowhere. What is the wattage and what size converter should I get?
    4) Does anybody have any recommendations or more info and advise regarding this and for a good quality converter?
    The tools concerned are:
    R3200 Circular saw
    MS1250LZ Compound Miter Saw
    MS1290LZ Sliding Compound Miter
    TS2400LS Table Saw
    I love my tools and cannot go without them. Cost of replacement Down Under is very expensive.
    Hope to hear from you all soon
    PC

Originally posted by pcnservices
    Hey everybody,
    It's my first time here and the reason for it is I need info - and hard to find info too.
    I am relocating to New Zealand and want to take all my (RIDGID) electrical tools with me. Ridgid don't have 220 V replacement motors (I alreay checked with the online service technicians)
    My question is:
    1) can I use a step down voltage converter/transformer that will step down voltage from 240V to 110 V? yes