Registration Scam... Google It

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Registration Scam... Google It

Will be long.......... So I'm a project manager for a construction company and of course try and get feedback from my employees on many different brands of tools. One I hadn't tried was RIDGID at Home Depot and talking with the sales representative and he explained the lifetime service agreement. I figured I would go with something simple on the home front and rebuild my gate but needed to replace my cordless drill. I purchased a RIGID drill for $179 at my local Home Depot in Altamonte Springs, FL. Among other things I like to build are computers toy with electronics around the house but never have I EVER had to go through registration issues just to get a warranty like this before. Everything I buy (for at least 4 years I keep receipts) I register if it has a warranty. Just stupid not to. This is the only company I've had issues with. So I go online as soon as I get home, open the box and start the online process and finish. I get a note that says, even though what I just did was digital, it will take 2 weeks to process?....... LOL.... Sure enough at the end of the two weeks I get an email stating that they were unable to confirm the registration information and I must send a certified mail in with the ORIGINAL receipt and a copy of the email in and then it would take 8 WEEKS TO PROCESS???????????!!!!!! Ok so that is 8+2=10 weeks... That is 70 Days.. GONE as you have 90 days to register your product from the time of purchase... So, after the math I googled RIDGID product registration and sure as heck... there are pages of information and complaints about the RIDGID process and it being a scam. Infuriated I called their customer service, and spoke with Amanda Winslett
    Warranty Service Representative
    Techtronic Industries Power Equipment